Cross Country Champs 2014

Dave Emery and Becky Le Maitre are the club cross country Champions.

Though fields were small there was a real competitive edge and both winners had to work hard to gain slender winning margins.

2014 XC Champs
2014 XC Champs
265.0 KiB

In November’s Delancey FNB event Emery seemed to have found Danny Ray’s Achilles heel and he ran similar tactics to take the sting out of Ray’s track pace with a strong last 800m.  Prior to Emery’s pace injection the duo had been locked together for the first 5 1/2 laps of the 6 lap/6 mile race. With 600m to go Emery had a 5 second lead but 15 year old Ray rallied over the final 400m to inch his way back – he never quite got there and had to forfeit with a 3 margin. Emery’s winning time was 35 minutes 19 seconds.  Jim de Garis was a clear third.

Though the men’s race was close the women’s was even closer. Le Maitre built up a 50 m lead over the first lap of four but Chantal Green ran strongly in the middle of the race and was vying for the lead with a lap remaining. With 400m to go Green appeared to be edging clear but the gap never got beyond 10 metres and though both women finished strongly Le Maitre just had the edge and won by a stride.

Other champions were:-

U17m – Danny Ray, U17W Katie Rowe, M40 Toby Grice, W45 Caroline Creed, M50 Brian Holden, U15B Alex Rowe, U15G Francesca Bown, U13B Louis Le Cheminant, U13G Amy Dallamore.





« »

Leave a Reply