FNB XC League Finale – Loveridge’s Race but Wilesmith’s Title

FNB XC League Finale – Loveridge’s Race but Wilesmith’s Title
06 Feb

Matt Loveridge(Below)  continued his superb sequence of races to easily win the final race of the 2015/16 FNB Cross Country series but there was little he could to to prevent Mike Wilesmith(Above)  defending his title. (Images Phil Nicolle).


Whilst Loveridge, who was out of overall title contention through missing earlier races,  established a lead early in the race Wilesmith took the opening stages slowly, so much so that with series challengers Dan Galpin and Tristan Robilliard running strongly in 2nd and 3rd and Wilesmith only 7th it did look as the title may change hands. The man sporting the Betway vest was biding his time though and had the appearance of a man just doing enough as he patiently picked his way through the field and crossed the line in 4th – enough to retain his title with a 7 point margin over Robilliard. 106-99.    Robilliard himself was running a fine race and held off the challenge of improving junior Dan Galpin for a strong 2nd place on the day and in the overall table.

Sarah Mercier duly claimed the women’s title but in the 4 mile event had to give way to two up and coming 16 year old boys  namely Alex Rowe and Sammy Galpin who ran their best races of the series. Mercier was third but just 200 metres and 3 places behind her Laura McCarthy celebrated her county call up with her best cross country race to date. McCarthy is amongst 4 Guernsey women selected for Hampshire in next Month’s Inter-Counties Championships.

Also in the 4 mile race James Priest was the highest placed division 3 runner and claimed the div 3 title.

Screen Shot 2016-02-07 at 07.00.40In the 3 mile event 15 year old Sam Culverwell (pictured) , who was also officially notified of his county selection this week, again demonstrated his class and was a clear winner from Anton Goovaerts and Mikey Ingrouille but  of the older division 4 runners Danny Blake drew clear of Renee Hubert to seal his campaign with a win.

Vicky Joyce found the terrain to her liking and edged Aileen Chapple in division 5 but it was not enough to turn over Chapple’s series lead and she claimed the title.

Chris Bain won the 2 mile event from leading girl Eliza Mason.

FNB5 Home Farm
FNB5 Home Farm
136.0 KiB
Xcleagtable1516 Xls
Xcleagtable1516 Xls
158.1 KiB

Thanks to officials&helpers.

course setup- Ray Scholes, Louise Perrio, Jim De Garis, Tristan Robilliard, Mel Nicolle, Mikey Ingrouille.

Marshalls – Martine Scholes, Mel Nicolle.

Finish – Wixy, Jacqueline Bonner, Matt & Ed Mason.


« »

Leave a Reply