09 Oct

Dogbreaker – Full Cliff Path 15 – PwC Race 4

Tiaan Erwee arrived with the brilliantly emblazoned T-Shirt “ain’t no distance long enough”, dominated the race and claimed the plaudits as the 2016 King of the Cliffs by winning both the overall PwC Cliff series title and the Guernsey Tom Trophy as the winner of the 15 mile Full Cliff race in a time of 1 hours 49 minutes 54 seconds.  The South African ultra runner barely had a bead of sweat on his brow as he trotted off from the Fairy Ring finish line to run back home.  (images Phil & Mel Nicolle).

But the 1991 course record, now 25 years old, of 1 hrs 44 min 19 sec survives another year.

Whilst Erwee dominated the event from the start there was close racing behind him for other podium places.  Aivis Kergalvis held off a quickly closing Jerym Brunton to claim second and  Laura McCarthy ran a measured race to pull clear of Nikki Neal in the final 3 miles and crossed the finish line as leading woman in a 5 minute PB of 2 hrs 13min 38sec. Caroline Creed was the third woman home.

Barrie Duerden, now in his mid 50’s,  ran a steady opening half between Havelet and Petit Bot but accelerated over the second half and crossed the line in 10th overall in a personal best time of 2 hrs 22 min 19 sec.In doing so he leapt over Ben Foote and Iain Lowe to claim the PwC division 2 title.

Roger Naftel may have been amongst the latter finishers but he has the statistician’s scanning over previous results – it is believed Roger is the first septuagenarian to  race and finish the traditional 15 mile full cliffs race.  In doing so he claimed the runner up spot in Division 4 – but the overall divisional winner was Amanda Mew.

Sean Collins was the winner of division 3. Jon Press’ challenge came undone when he went off course at three-quarter distance.

15 Mile & 8 Mile Results

PwCOct9 15m Xls
PwCOct9 15m Xls
70.8 KiB

Final League Positions 

110.0 KiB

Many thanks to Officials, Marshalls & course markers  J-P Mace, Debbi Stokes, Ray & Dawn Scholes James Midgley, Caroline Creed, Elyse Dandeker, Katie Lowe, Michael Quittenden, Chris Dorey and Paul Creed.  Phil & Mel Nicolle.





« »

Leave a Reply